She Already Has A Boyfriend

Dear Mr. Knightley, 

I have a problem. I am in love with one of my best friends’ friends. But she’s in a relationship. And I know its wrong and I know I should stay clear of her, but I don’t think I’ve ever felt this way before. No other relationship I’ve ever had has felt this way, this real. It’s hard to describe. Just thinking of her makes me feel warm and funny and I start grinning like some idiot. And I can’t even speak around her and my heart starts beating like crazy and I feel sick to my stomach. Since she and my best friend are friends, we spend a lot of time together, just the three of us. Which is so terrible because I know I should stay away from her but when I’m away from her I can’t stop thinking about her. I don’t know what to do. I can’t stay away from her. I can’t stop thinking about her. But I want to respect her relationship too. I don’t know what to do. It all feels so hopeless.

-Kyle

Three's a Crowd

Dear Kyle,

I am very sorry to hear about your sad situation. You are not alone. There are many men who are in similar situations as your own. Too often it seems love’s arrows only land where we cannot retrieve them. You are right in saying that you should not associate with the young lady. But it is definitely easier said than done. Love can be so painful and yet addictive all at the same time. One can often feel torn between what one knows one ought to do and what one wants to do.

However, you may want to consider some personal questions first. Do you feel that this is truly more than a passing fancy? Then you may wish to wait it out, remaining only her friend, until such time as you may be able to make your suit. However, know that your chance may never come if you do that. If at all possible you may wish rather to break off the friendship all together. It will be hard and painful but not as painful as the thousand and one small deaths you will die each time you are forced to be in her company and know that you may never reveal your true intentions to her.

Know that which ever route you take you will be forced to endure hardships. But both ends will be well worth it. If you decide to remain by her side it will not be easy. But if you are able to finally tell her how you truly feel, it will be a well deserved reward. If you decide to forgo her company, then it will also be difficult. However, when you finally do find that special girl whose love you may pursue freely, you will be glad to have cut all these ties you feel now. So know that while both paths are difficult, both may be well worth it in the end of the day.

Cordially,
Mr. Knightley

About Mr. Knightley

There is one thing a man can always do, if he chooses, and that is his duty. View all posts by Mr. Knightley

One response to “She Already Has A Boyfriend

  • ladyofquality

    Dearest Kyle,

    I see no reason whatsoever why you should not pursue the lady in question, so long as she is not already engaged to be married. In that case, it would become a bit more difficult, as there may be breach of promise suits and general awkwardness. Even if that be the case, until she is actually married, and that marriage consummated, she is quite certainly fair game for any gentleman.

    If you truly love her as you say, you certainly should fight for her, and not be so pudding hearted as to give in simply because her attentions are elsewhere at the moment.

    It is simply a question of her affections. You need to let her know how you feel. It need not be in an extravagant way, full of bravado, but something simple and small. I daresay the members of the more delicate sex are quite keen, and able to discern very fine innuendo. You would do well to begin sending her these signals, and, in turn, pay careful attention to her reaction.

    Be sure to add charm, grace, fashion, chivalry, and a dashing smile to your endeavors, and success may well be yours. Never underestimate the powers of undivided attentiveness! It is easy to become captivated by someone who, in turn, finds you captivating!

    Best of luck with your Venus!

Or Answer this Letter Yourself....

